shaved summer squash salad

18 Jun

Over a year ago, Joe brought me home a road bike that had been abandoned at his old work. I procrastinated on fixing it up until a couple weeks ago. What a shame. This is the first time I’ve had a bike since like 2003. THEY ARE SO FUN. I never want to drive anywhere anymore. We live in a really perfect spot for errand- and outing-biking and long distances, too. We live right near the confluence of the Platte River and Cherry Creek. There are trails along both of those waterways and you can go pretty far on them, as well as get downtown easily without having to traverse the whole way on city streets. We’re planning an outing some upcoming weekend to bike up north to Broomfield where, unbeknownst to me until a few days ago, is an Abbott’s Frozen Custard. Holy. Crap. It’s originally from Rochester, NY, where I’m from, and it is summer to me. Plus, not only is the frozen custard itself mean summer, but when I was younger we’d always bike to the Abbott’s on the Erie Canal. So we HAVE to bike to this one!
So, while I have indulgent super rich frozen custard looming over me, this salad recipe will be here to balance out my sugar load. It’s a such simple salad. But don’t let that stop you from making it. It really is worth making. It’ll be wonderful for a first course or side dish on a super hot day. If you want, you could put on grilled steak, chicken, or fish to make it a one-dish meal.
I’m betting you’ll be able to find lots of fresh summer squash and salad greens at the local farmers’ market. I haven’t had a chance to stop by the ones near me, unfortunately. There’s one on Thursday nights that I can swing by on my way home from work, but I haven’t worked it into the grocery routine yet. Plus, the past couple Thursdays I was too busy to make a stop. But that’s okay, plain old Joe Schmo grocery store fare was still great.

shaved summer squash salad
adapted (not really) from Bon Appetit, serves 4-6

1 pound summer squash (about 4 small), varied kinds
1/3 cup almonds, toasted and chopped or crushed
2 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 garlic clove, minced or pressed
coarse sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
arugula or chopped/ripped lettuce

1. With a vegetable peeler, peel the squash into thin strips into a large bowl. I had to toss them when they got too skinny that they just kind of crumpled. Salvage what you can.

2. To make the dressing, whisk the oil, lemon juice, and garlic. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

3. Pour the dressing over the squash and let it sit for a few minutes to soak in. Place on top of the salad greens of your choice (arugula would be really nice, but I couldn’t resist a super sale on organic romaine). Season again with salt and pepper and top with the toasted almonds.

14 Responses to “shaved summer squash salad”

  1. BJ June 18, 2011 at 18:36 #

    If you’re biking from Cherry Creek to Broomfield, you’ll need an super-sized custard, won’t you? LOL I will have to try that next time we get to Denver.

    • Julie June 19, 2011 at 11:32 #

      Yes I WILL need a super-sized custard! Good thinking!

  2. Erin L. June 19, 2011 at 19:45 #

    Julie!!! This is Erin L. from Flex. Oh. My. Word. I am just reading up on your blog and not only do your recipes look amazing, but I am SO excited about your new company. The website (blog and company) are awesome and I really want some coconut cookies!! They look amazing. I am really looking forward to trying some of your stuff. I will be making an order soon. I hope to see you soon. I think we must work out at completely different times and I hate that!

    • Julie June 20, 2011 at 16:36 #

      Thanks Erin!! Yeah, I know, I never see you! I don’t see a lot of the Flex girls nearly enough. Enjoy the website and I hope you enjoy the cookies too!

  3. scottdalecommunitypool June 20, 2011 at 05:59 #

    You should invest in a spiralizer to make noodles! http://raspberrycoconut.com/2011/06/12/low-carb-zucchini-noodles/

    • Julie June 20, 2011 at 16:38 #

      Whoa that’s a whacky contraption!

  4. Bridget Brown June 29, 2011 at 17:48 #

    As I read your post I kept being surprised. I just recently moved to Aurora, CO so I recognized the trails you are talking about. Then my father is from Rochester and I have eaten at the same Abbott’s ice cream store after a bike ride along the erie canal. It is strange hearing someone have the same life experiences. I am always looking for new recipes that help fight the carb cravings and are not too difficult to make. this one seems good, I’ll have to try it soon. Do you ride with any local bike groups?

    • Julie June 29, 2011 at 22:25 #

      Oh how neat! I can’t believe you’ve eaten at that Abbott’s!

      No, I don’t ride with any local bike groups. I don’t think I’m up to par yet.

      Thanks for checking out my blog : )

  5. Joe August 18, 2011 at 15:00 #

    How would you recommend cooking a piece of salmon (or other fish) to go on top of the salad? What sort of seasoning or preparation?

    • Julie August 19, 2011 at 16:36 #

      Hmm, I’d keep it super simple and summery. It’s cliché, but lemon and dill would be great seasonings – or another fresh herb like basil. If you have pesto lying around you could top the fish with that. As far as preparation, I think grilling the salmon fits the bill, since it’s summer and all – about 4 minutes per side of a filet on medium heat. Let me know what you try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. shaved summer squash salad | Paleo Digest - June 18, 2011

    [...] and sites on the web!shaved summer squash salad the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: June 18, 2011the crankin’ kitchen! – Over a year ago, Joe brought me home a road bike that had been abandoned at his old work. I [...]

  2. SUNDAY 11.06.26 « The Foodee Project | Meals for the paleo lifestyle - June 26, 2011

    [...] 25, 2011 by The Foodee shaved summer squash salad The Crankin [...]

  3. TheFoodee.com – SUNDAY 11.06.26 - June 26, 2011

    [...] 11.06.26 shaved summer squash salad The Crankin [...]

  4. shaved summer squash salad | Low Carb Daily - August 9, 2011

    [...] summer squash salad August 9, 2011By: Julie Source: the crankin’ kitchen! Over a year ago, Joe brought me home a road bike that had been abandoned at his old work. I [...]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,114 other followers

