green curry salmon with kiwi salsa

25 Jan

Trying desperately to pry myself away from obsessing over another ethnically accurate meal, I instead managed to produce some sort of dreaded fusion cuisine. Totally don’t care. At least I didn’t make mac and cheese-filled potstickers. Plus, kiwi salsa? You know I have an affinity for fruit salsas, and this one is no exception. I mulled over somehow incorporating coconut milk, which if you’ve got a genius idea, I’d encourage and like to hear about it. I saw some recipe that puréed kiwis with coconut milk, but that seemed a shame. Then I considered poaching the salmon in coconut milk, but ohhh the crispy skin (bacon of the sea). I dunno, sometimes I want to mash together every possible delicious flavor that I think would go well together. Best to just step it back. Like that dumb jewelry rule for ladies that I consistently flout.
I got a cold the other night. Started with that nasty drip burn in the back of my throat, then an achy neck. I felt kinda junky the next day, just real droopy and achy. But lo and behold, the following day? Good as new. I can’t definitively say any reason, I suppose, but I’m putting my money on eating so freaking well this past month. I’ve noticed in general that my cold frequency has gone way down since I started eating paleo, but duration is one thing that’s really easy to notice. I distinctly remember being out of commission for like a week with colds that I used to get back when I lived in Boston. So.awesome. I’m totally on a Whole 30 high. Probably like those fats on The Biggest Loser feel after eating well (questionable – Jennie O??), exercising the crap out of themselves, and getting off all of their meds. I think I should set a goal to become a trainer on that show. Or gain 200 pounds and use my charming personality to gain a spot on it.
I think Mahi Mahi, catfish, or some warm water fish would be better suited for this, just to lessen the fusion-y aspect, but I’ll take what I can find on super sale. If you’re used to simply peeling away the skin on your fish, don’t! It’s so awesome, plus scaling it is actually kind of fun. Scales go flying all over your kitchen, but you feel real rustic and accomplished. I mean, I like job specialization and all, but sometimes it’s fun to live the life of a fishmonger, for about the 1 minute it takes to scale a slab of salmon.
green curry salmon with kiwi salsa

salsa
4 kiwis, peeled and chopped
1/4 red onion, finely chopped
1/2 jalapeño, or to taste
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup cilantro, coarsely chopped
fresh lime juice
coarse sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Season with lime juice, salt and pepper to taste. I find it easiest to peel a kiwi by cutting it in half, then using a spoon to scoop out the fruit. That way you also get to scoop out and eat any leftover kiwi in the skin shell.

salmon
1 side of salmon, skin on
2 tablespoons olive oil/fat, divided
2-3 tablespoons green curry paste
coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

1. Using a butter knife, scale the skin by running the knife over it backward. Give the salmon a good rinse afterward.

2. Coat the fish with some olive oil and generously pat on the curry paste. Season to taste with salt (depending on your curry paste – mine is rather salty) and pepper. Cut into fillets.

3. Heat the remaining oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. When the oil is hot, sear the salmon for about 3-4 minutes per side, depending on the thickness of the fillets you cut. Do this in batches for the most even cooking. Don’t disturb the fish until you’re ready to flip it! You don’t want a stuck on skin mess.

Top the fish with some kiwi salsa and another squeeze of lime! Gorgeous.

2 Responses to “green curry salmon with kiwi salsa”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CrossFit 312 » Blog Archive » 04.24.12 - April 23, 2012

    [...] article: how much food should you eat? recipe: green curry salmon with kiwi salsa [...]

  2. curry apricot relish « the crankin' kitchen! - July 1, 2012

    [...] Desserting. Something. But decided to make a relish of sorts. It was tempting to make another fruit salsa, as I do have quite the affinity for them. But curry was calling to me. And, while salsa could [...]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

