roasted eggplant and garlic salad

12 Aug

Roasted eggplant and roasted garlic salad. I don’t know how best to write that. Does the roasted apply to garlic if I only have it in front of eggplant? Is it redundant to write roasted twice? AHH I don’t understand. But rest assured, the garlic is roasted. Sweet, sweet roasted garlic. And it’s mashed around to evenly incorporate amongst the eggplant. God I love this salad. And I can call it a salad because there are some raw elements. Otherwise I would just call it roasted eggplant and garlic. Boring.
I went to two pig roasts the other weekend. Back to back pig roasts. Well, one was a pig smoke. My god were those pigs good. I’m going to have a pig roasting party of my own. Oh yeah, and did I tell you that I went to a hog butchering class? If you followed me on the old twitter you’d know. Anyway, I made a friend at that class, and who also went to one of the pig roasts I went to, and we’re going to make it happen. He’s like a pig maniac and apparently a smoker master. So…I think we’re going to have the best pig roasting party of the year. Be there or be square, buddy.
I’m also going to have a cooking party with some old friends of mine from Fairport that live here. It’s going to be sweet. I never have cooking parties. I never host dinner parties, either. I have such grand visions in my head of doing it, but when it comes down to actually thinking about planning it and logistics and stuff, I always say forget it. So lame. Okay, here it is: I will host quarterly dinner parties. Seasonal ones, of course. When should my summer one be?? Last weekend in August? First in September? Oh yeah that’s Labor Day; that might work. Menu ideas? Tomatoes, duh. Roasted carrots with dill. Tomato, swiss chard and basil oil salad. Crispy chicken legs. Grilled peaches. Oh man. So simple. I love summer food SO MUCH.
I got a bunch of these Prosperosa eggplants from the farmers market. They’re so pretty. It seemed a shame to chop them up and mix them with the more traditional eggplant so they’re indiscernible from one another, but uh, oh well. They never look so hot after cooking anyway. The stand at the farmer’s market that I go to makes me so stupidly happy I can’t believe it. He give you two sizes of plastic bags that you can fill for a flat $10 or $12. I always get the $10 bag, which is like a 10-pound potato bag. I shove so much shit in that bag. Like stretch the plastic amount of shit. I’ve gotten fingerling potatoes, purple potatoes, corn, tomatoes, basil, dill, pickling cucumbers, white onions, yellow onions, red onions, garlic, leeks, baby artichokes, these eggplants… it’s so fun. And I struggle to use all the produce (coupled with the overwhelming amount of crap coming from my garden) each week. That’s a pretty sweet problem to have.
roasted eggplant and garlic salad
serves…lots, like 6-8; I doubled the Bon Appetit recipe I based this on. You can also use whatever fresh herbs you might have, and other vinegars, too.

2.5 pounds eggplant, cut into 1 inch cubes
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 head garlic, cloves peeled
2 pints of cherry tomatoes, halved or 3 large tomatoes, chopped, or a mix (that’s what I did)
1 small onion, chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
3 – 4 tablespoons red wine vinegar
sea salt and freshly ground pepper

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Place eggplant in two roasting or casserole pans, so they’re in a single layer. Drizzle olive oil over and toss to coat.

2. Roast the eggplant for 10 minutes, then add the garlic cloves.

3. Roast an additional 35 minutes, until the eggplant and garlic are soft, stirring occasionally. Check on the garlic, especially if your cloves are on the small side, to ensure it’s not burning.

4. Remove from the oven and remove the garlic cloves. In a small bowl, mash the garlic cloves into a paste. In a large bowl, mix the roasted garlic paste into the eggplant.

5. Mix the rest of the ingredients into eggplant mixture, adding the exact amount of vinegar to your liking. Season with salt and pepper. Cool to room temperature.

This is a great side dish for a bbq or picnic, because it tastes awesome room temp. Serve it with grilled chicken legs, steak, lamb… whatever really. You will eat so much. Apologies in advance.

3 Responses to “roasted eggplant and garlic salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. roasted eggplant and garlic salad | Paleo Digest - August 12, 2012

    [...] on the web!roasted eggplant and garlic salad the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: August 12, 2012the crankin’ kitchen! – Roasted eggplant and roasted garlic salad. I don’t know how best to write that. Does [...]

  2. CrossFit 312 » Blog Archive » 08.25.12 - August 25, 2012

    [...] article: does milk do a body good? recipe: roasted eggplant and garlic salad #2 [...]

  3. Chicken Marbella | Simply Norma - March 30, 2013

    [...] side dish we had was a Roasted Eggplant and Garlic Salad. Well, what can I say about it? First, I’m not a big eggplant fan although I have had [...]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,114 other followers

