walnut pork butter

29 Jul

paleo walnut pork butter I’m in a new-location-malaise. I know, poor pitiful me, what a hard life I have, but it’s true. I feel like a lump, a real sad sack. I think a need a routine and some friends. Thinking about my friends reminded me of this draft I had saved and not yet published, which was inspired by a fun dinner out I had back in Denver. One friend got a vegetarian 3-course meal, and two of the courses had butters of sorts accompanying. A delicious, slightly sweet pecan butter, an onion butter that I didn’t get enough of a taste of to figure out what they did, and…some other butter. Give me a break, I had gone out with other friends before, so I don’t remember too well all the butter details. But what I do know is, is that I had a bunch of walnuts in the freezer and a lot of confit pork bits leftover from making lard. Those little bits are great added to pan-fried potatoes and great, it turns out, puréed with walnuts, onion, and salt.
walnuts paleo confit pork Now I’ll let you in on a little secret lard rendering technique I like – keeping little bits of meat on the fat pieces. It’s perhaps not for pie crust lard, and it’s perhaps not really a secret, but it sure is nice to have a pile of melty meat and fat bits that you can store in a jar for just such inspired moments as deciding to make a nut and pork butter with them. I desperately need a meat source here in Texas, though, so I can render more lard. I finally got my source for raw milk and eggs here, but I haven’t found a farm that will deliver ground beef and a pork package of unknown contents to me each month. I don’t really want to go to a farmers’ market every weekend to get meat. I’m fine with it sometimes, but I really did like the CSA aspect of my source in CO.  But my situation is dire and I need pork fat!
making paleo nut butter Now clearly this is a pretty loose type of recipe. My blogger friend Mark gets really creative and adds oil that he used to fry kaffir lime leaves in. Seriously, there’s no way to eff this up. Use a different nut – I can’t wait to use pecans, use a different animal – lamb is calling my name, and of course try spices or other aromatics – garlic, chile peppers, whatevs. If you have the intention to make this before you make your pork bits, then you could start the seasoning there. Render the lard with fresh herbs in the pan or garlic. Otherwise, starting with unseasoned bits will be just fine. I put this pork butter on baked potatoes and it was pretty magical. Um, I also put some on a burger I cooked. I think that’s gratuitous. Don’t be like Julie (no that’s fine, I’m alright).
paleo walnut pork butter food processor pork walnut butter

2 cups raw walnuts
1/4 – 1/3 cup pork scraps after rendering lard or just lard
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/8 – 1/4 vidalia onion

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth. That’ll take a little bit of time, though you’re welcome to experiment with varying textures. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed. I added a bit more onion, which then I also didn’t purée quite as much, so there were small bits of onion throughout.
paleo walnut pork butter

6 Responses to “walnut pork butter”

  1. Mark S. July 29, 2013 at 18:32 #

    Yes!!!!! I have a post in the hopper for some lamb fat fried almonds. This beats it by a country mile. Great work.

  2. robin July 31, 2013 at 06:32 #

    Check out paidom.com for meat! I’m pretty sure they deliver to San Antonio. We have not been able to order for a while (it looks like I am retired whether I like it or not, and lord, it’s hard being a single income family!), but they have the BEST meat, we really admire their ethics and values, and they are just really nice folks.

    • Julie July 31, 2013 at 08:59 #

      That place looks really good! Yeah, I hear you on single income-ness. I’m trying to get an income back. Ugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wide Open Wednesday: Links Worth Clicking On | Nourish Paleo Foods - July 31, 2013

    […] about the best idea I heard all week: Walnut pork butter.  I can instantly think of at least a dozen food that would be more delicious topped with this four […]

  2. Friday Things. : Oven Love - August 1, 2013

    […] Walnut pork butter? Yeah, it’s a real thing. […]

  3. Heirloom Tomato Gazpacho (Guest Post) : Oven Love - August 22, 2013

    […] fill in the gaps while I get my act together. Julia’s blog is awesome- you must check out her walnut pork butter, which is happening in my house ASAP. I’ll be back in a day or two to tell you all about our […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,251 other followers

