roasted squash mix with caramelized onions and goat cheese

9 Oct

squash mix

Yeah, it was kind of one of those dinners. Leftovers in the fridge that didn’t seem appealing, and a hodgepodge of half-used veggies sitting on their deathbed. Figured I’d save a couple squashes and keep with the seasonal theme. Leftovers are more fun for lunch anyway. Well, I sure am glad I made that decision, because this turned out really yummy! I used the bulb of a butternut squash (is that what you call it?) and one-half an acorn squash, but really anything will do. I almost considered attempting to peel the acorn squash so that I could roast it along with the butternut one in the same manner, but realizing that since I complained about peeling in my last post, I thought it wise to not. And I’m sure glad I didn’t peel it, because it turned out just fine. Didn’t even need to cook one longer than the other. The one true labor of this recipe is the caramelized onions. It took me years to do them right. Yeah, I know. Pretty terrible. I just never could muster the patience to do them correctly. They really do take a lot of time and they really do require a lot of stirring attention. But as anyone who’s had good ones knows, they’re worth every minute! So get out your best, heaviest pan and try this!

butternut squash

squash

onions

squash mix

Roasted Squash Mix with Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese

the equivalent of 1 squash – I used half butternut and half acorn, but it doesn’t need to be a mix

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 onion, chopped in half lengthwise, then sliced 1/4 inch think widthwise

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 – 1 teaspoon dried sage

1/2 teaspoon salt

pepper

herbed goat cheese (plain is okay)

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

2. Peel and cube squash if using an easily peelable one. Make about 1/2 inch cubes. If using acorn squash, cut in half and scoop out seeds.

3. Place cubed squash, and/or acorn squash half (peel side up), on an oiled or parchment paper covered baking sheet. Roast for about an hour, stirring the cubes every 20 minutes or so. This time is approximate, and if you think your squash is done before hand, by all means, take it out.

4. While squash is cooking, heat oil in a skillet. Add onions and cook on low to medium-low for duration of roasting. Stir frequently. Onions should become very soft and take on a brown color throughout. Be careful not to burn them.

5. When the squash is ready, remove from the oven. If you used an acorn squash, remove the flesh from the skin onto a cutting board. Cut up into cubes.

6. When the onions are done, add the squash and stir to mix. Add cranberries, sage, salt, and pepper and stir.

7. Now, you can serve the squash mixture as is and then top with goat cheese, or you can go ahead and mix the cheese with the squash in the pan.

This dish can be either a side dish or the main event, depending on your preference. I served mine with wild rice and nothing else, but that’s because I didn’t really have anything else. It would have been nice with a protein. I think the wild rice was a really nice accompaniment, so I’d keep that.

And for an extra special seasonal treat…!!!

Panto

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

