chutney chicken + curry frittata

2 Apr


Chutney is a wonderful invention. I guess all Indian food is. But chutney is the feature tonight. For a little twist, it’s not just a condiment, but a nice spicy sweet base for chicken thighs. To complement the sweetness, I made this with a savory curried frittata. Unfortunately, I overcooked the frittata. But you won’t! I hope! The frittata has peas in it, but feel free to substitute any seasonal veggie in it – chopped swiss chard or cut up asparagus would work nicely.

This dinner seems like it could be overwhelming, but it really comes together easily. You basically work just on the chutney and when it is simmering, you can work on the frittata. And before you know it, you’ll be impressing your lucky dinner guests. Or eating it in front of the TV. That’s what I did.



As I mentioned with the frittata, the ingredients for both these recipes are flexible. The chutney calls for three kinds of dried fruit and you can play around with those. I would lessen the amount of fruit next time I make this (this is the second time I’ve made it and I swear I used even less than the previous time and I still thought it was a little too much) or maybe just use two kinds. Or use more chicken. Maybe that’s what I did differently. Hm. Other than that, the spices are pretty much perfect, so I wouldn’t touch that. I did cheat and use powdered ginger because I forgot to pick up some actual root. Didn’t miss it. The original recipe (thank you mom for my Rachel Ray magazine subscription that I’m rather embarrassed about liking so much) also called for parsnips. But meh. If I did use parsnips it’d be as a savory roasted side.

Chutney Chicken

1 tablespoon olive oil
6 boneless skinless chicken thighs
salt and pepper
1 tablespoon butter
1 onion, chopped
1 granny smith apple, peeled and chopped
6 dried apricots, diced
1/4 – 1/3 cup dried cranberries and golden raisins (I used 1/4 cup each and it was too much)
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar or cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon dried ginger, or 1 1 inch piece root, peeled and minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup chicken stock
2 tablespoons grain mustard

1. Heat oil in a stock pot. Add chicken and brown, about 5 minutes each side. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Remove from pot and set aside.

2. Melt butter in same pot and add onion and apple. Saute for about 5 minutes.

3. Add remaining ingredients and chicken to the pot. Stir, scraping up browned bits. Simmer for about 10 minutes, until chicken is cooked all through. You can break up the chicken a little bit to help it finish.

Curry Frittata

8 eggs
1/4 grated parmesan
1/3 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon garam masala (or just make it 2 teaspoons curry powder if you don’t have garam masala)
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 scallions, chopped
1 cup frozen peas

1. Whisk or blender(ize?) the eggs, salt, and spices together. Set aside. Preheat the broiler.

2. Heat oil in a cast iron pan or nonstick skillet. Saute the scallions and peas until the liquid from the frozen peas has evaporated.

3. Add the egg mixture to the pan. Cook until almost set, lifting the edges with a spatula and tilting the pan to let the liquid egg flow in. Place pan underneath the broiler for 1-2 minutes, until the egg is set. Using the spatula, slide the frittata onto a plate.

Slice the frittata and serve with a side of the chicken. Not the most attractive dish, but who cares?!

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

