thai chicken curry

21 Sep

Hey, remember when I used to post to this blog? Heh. I think blogging is like going to the gym. If you stop going for a week, next thing you know it’ll be 3 months and you haven’t gone once. See, I moved to a new apartment (actually a house, but if you say that, people think you bought) and the new kitchen was an absolute disaster for about a month. I still think it’s a disaster and it’s been 2 1/2 months since the move. The old kitchen was a disaster for almost a month prior. So cooking was tough and unglamorous at best. I actually do have about 4 back blog posts that I just couldn’t get myself to finish for one reason or another – “you can see a box in the background”, “the lighting in this kitchen sucks”, “the countertops are a mess”, blah blah.

The recipe for today’s post is cheating a little. I’m not sure a Thai curry recipe that uses curry paste is actually worthy of a blog post, but cut me some slack. It’s been a while. And it really is delicious, so that’s what matters in the end. Maybe you’ll see a post later on where I actually make my own curry paste. Yeah, just like how I keep saying to myself that I’ll make my own mole from scratch.



Thai food isn’t really the rage anymore, and I haven’t really wanted to make or eat it for several years. I get it occasionally at work when clients are there, but I never go out to a Thai restaurant for dinner. Now I absolutely never will because this recipe is just as good as what you get at a restaurant. I swear it is! And you can change any of the veggies or meat in it to suit your tastes or the season. I’ll be making it a lot in the winter with squash and beef or pork.

This recipe is pretty easy to put together. Chopping takes the most time. You can cook it in a crock pot to really make it a no brainer. I did it on the stove and it only took about 30 minutes or so to cook. Easy weeknight dinner.

Thai Chicken Curry

1 tablespoon coconut oil, or other fat
1 1/2 pounds chicken thighs, cut into chunks
salt and pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 red bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
1 red onion, thinly sliced
1 pound carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
1 medium to large sweet potato or garnet yam, peeled and sliced into 1/4 inch disks
1/2 pound frozen (or fresh, trimmed) green beans
1 14 ounce can coconut milk
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1 tablespoon palm sugar, or brown sugar
3 tablespoons green curry paste (or to taste)
1 cup chicken broth (or additional coconut milk)
basil leaves, lime juice, and crushed peanuts for garnish

1. Heat oil in a large soup pot. Add chicken and garlic, cooking until chicken gets a little brown and is mostly cooked. Salt to taste. Check to see how salty your curry paste is to make sure you’re not over salting.

2. Add peppers and onion and saute for a few minutes.

3. Mix together coconut milk, fish sauce, sugar, and curry paste in a separate bowl.

4. Add the rest of the veggies to the pot along with the coconut milk mixture. Add the chicken broth or additional coconut milk so that the liquid is just a little under the line of the veggies and meat. Cover and cook about 30 minutes, or until carrots are tender.

5. Serve the curry topped with lime juice, fresh basil, and crushed peanuts. I forgot the peanuts when I ate this and felt sad afterward.

Enjoy!! You can serve this with jasmine rice if you’d like, or just take another helping of the curry!

2 Responses to “thai chicken curry”

  1. Whitney February 2, 2011 at 01:23 #

    This looks absolutely delish!

    I’m hoping over from PaleoBloggers and YUM! I am adding your blog to my RSS list!

    • Julie February 4, 2011 at 01:12 #

      Thank you!!

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

