easy chicken salad with truffle mayo

30 Apr

Still riding my high horse from Easter Sunday, where I no-problem whipped up a delicious mayonnaise for our deviled eggs, I was itching for a reason to make more mayo. This chicken salad recipe is really more of a starting off point than a full-fledged recipe. I used an already-cooked rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. They’re a great way to save time when you’re pressed for it. On Wednesdays, Whole Foods has a sale on their chickens, so if I’m going to buy a prepared meal, it’s a good option to do it then. Usually I’ll make just a side of vegetables to go along with the chicken, but it was fun making this salad.

I know truffled things are kind of 2008, but I’m still super into them. It’s probably one of my most favorite flavors. Truffle oil is the poor man’s way to have a glimpse at that wonderful flavor. Not that truffle oils are all that cheap. Some are pretty darn expensive. I’ve never bought one of those, so I don’t know how it compares to the least expensive ones. But this mayo was really good, so whatever. I’ll try not to think about how much better it would be if I had gotten a higher end oil.

The veggies you use in the chicken salad are really up to you. I think celery is a must, and I also really like fruit. Apple, like I used, or grapes are great. You should also definitely have an onion-y component, whether red, white, or yellow onion, shallot, or scallions. I also added green pepper, since I had it in the fridge, but any bell pepper would be great. Halved cherry or grape tomatoes, too.

So I’ve determined to totally scrap any sort of electric component to making mayonnaise or aioli. Hand whisking is the way to go. It’s less messy, easier to control, and just generally more olde tymey. Yeah, you’ll need to shake your arm out a couple times, but tough. I didn’t use all truffle oil in this. Not just because it’s pricey, but because it’s olive oil-based and straight olive oil mayo is too olive-y. So do halvsies with a mild oil of your choice. You can do light olive oil, safflower, a nut oil, etc.

truffle mayonnaise

1 egg yolk at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 small garlic clove, pressed
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup truffle infused olive oil
1/2 cup light olive oil

In a large bowl, whisk yolk, mustard, salt, garlic, and lemon juice. Add one to two drops of oil and whisk. Continue to add just a drop or two to the bowl, whisking in between, until mixture begins to thicken. At this point, you can add the oil in a thin, steady stream, whisking at the same time until all oil is incorporated and mixture is thick and fluffy.

chicken salad

1 rotisserie chicken
2 celery stalks, chopped
1 apple, chopped
1/2 medium onion, minced
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 teaspoon poppy seeds
1 teaspoon coarse sea salt
pepper to taste
mayo to taste

Strip chicken carcass of all meat, pulling it off in bite sized chunks. Put in a large bowl, and add remaining ingredients. Place another large bowl on top and shake to mix. Add more mayo if desired. Adjust seasonings.

So yummy and easy! Plus, you’ll have leftover mayo to add to all sorts of stuff.

One Response to “easy chicken salad with truffle mayo”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CrossFit 312 » Blog Archive » 05.11.11 - May 10, 2011

    […] article: what berries can do for you recipe: chicken salad with truffle […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

