onion and parmesan frittata

25 Aug

Backpacking, a 12er, a 13er, a 14er, and many pounds of gorp later, I’ve returned. It was my dad’s now annual summer visit (fall and winter are forming as annuals, too – he just can’t stay away from this state) and it was just perfect. We saw elk, those wonderful little pikas, marmots, columbine, old abandoned buildings, mountain lion scat (eek!), and bushwhacked our way to the top of a couple peaks, camped on a high altitude tundra, got sleeted on, hailed on, and sunburned. It’s so hard to come back to real life after all that.
But one of the redeeming qualities of real life is food! I mean, I really love gorp. And I really love macaroni and cheese after a day of hiking (like reeealllly love it, and oh yeah, I got this rice macaroni and it was pretty good), but I miss having regular food. Even still, it’s difficult to get back into a routine when you’ve been completely off of it for a week. We also went out to some restaurants when we weren’t in the mountains and that always throws me off too. So, after one of the laziest Saturdays (or any day for that matter) that I’ve had in a long time, I figured, okay time to get back to my normal life. But the thought of dirtying a whole sink of dishes and grocery shopping for a big list of ingredients was a little much so, I thought, well, what’s a good way to ease back into cooking? A one-pot, no fuss dinner made with stuff I had in the house.
Egg dinners are definitely one of my favorite go-to simple dinners, even though Joe doesn’t ever feel like them so I don’t make them much unless it’s an all out breakfast dinner. But hey, here it is. I made a frittata for dinner. Sorry Joe. Kind of. I got to eat the leftovers for breakfast the following couple of days. So I’m pretty happy Joe is frittata indifferent. It’s hard making a frittata and declaring it blog worthy. I mean, this one definitely is, and you should definitely make it, but the number of variations you can do with one are endless and if you know how to make one, you don’t really need a recipe to make a different variation on one. Vegetable of choice, check. Eggs, check. Optional cheese, check. Herbs and spices, check. Done. There’s a frittata.
I don’t want to turn into a Rachael Ray here. I take back what I said in some other post about liking her magazine. I’m tired of getting each issue and seeing oh, there’s another version of mac and cheese (and I intensely dislike saying “mac” and cheese…kind of like “tunes” for songs), oh, another stoup, oh, another sammie. Gah. I’m fine with appealing to the busy home cook, but can’t you use real English? Anyway, I don’t mean for this recipe to be just another Rachael Ray-esque frittata version. Like, oh here’s Julie posting another frittata! This time with feta, olives, and tomatoes! Oh, and this time it’s Italian sausage and kale! Ooh, now it’s tex-mex with cilantro, pepper jack, and salsa! With little tortilla strips on top! Oh god. This recipe is by no means cutting edge, but I like it in its simplicity and its focus on the onion.

onion and parmesan frittata
adapted from Bon Appetit, serves 4 – 6

I used my cheese grater attachment on my food processor to grate the parmesan. It is my favorite thing ever. If you don’t have this super attachment, you can buy pregrated if you want, but you wouldn’t ever want to do that. It’s worth the little effort to grate it yourself.

8 large eggs
1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, cut into a chiffonade
4 sage leaves, finely chopped (or a 1/2 teaspoon of dried sage)
4 ounces grated parmesan
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, minced (or equal dried, crumbled)
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 medium onion, quartered lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
ricotta salata, shaved, optional

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Mix the first 7 ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside.

2. Heat the olive oil in an ovenproof 8 inch skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion and sauté for about 6 minutes, stirring frequently. The onions should be soft and just starting to show a little bit of color.

3. Reduce the heat to low and pour in the egg mixture. Gently stir to get the onions incorporated. Add the shaved ricotta salata on top if you want.

4. Cook for about 3-4 minutes, until the frittata just begins to set. Put the skillet in the oven and bake until just set, about 9 minutes.

You can serve the frittata hot or even room temp. Now I just need to freeze dry this and bring it on a camping trip! Ew. Freeze dried eggs are terrible.

6 Responses to “onion and parmesan frittata”

  1. chowstalker (@Chowstalker) August 26, 2011 at 07:39 #

    Julie, you look like you are 14 years old standing next to your Dad! And I mean that in the most complimentary way.😉

    • Julie August 26, 2011 at 11:24 #

      Haha!!! Yeah, I’m kind of a shrimp.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. onion and parmesan frittata | Paleo Digest - August 25, 2011

    […] and sites on the web!onion and parmesan frittata the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: August 25, 2011the crankin’ kitchen! – Backpacking, a 12er, a 13er, a 14er, and many pounds of gorp later, I’ve returned. It […]

  2. onion and parmesan frittata | Low Carb Daily - August 26, 2011

    […] and parmesan frittata August 26, 2011By: Julie Source: the crankin’ kitchen! Backpacking, a 12er, a 13er, a 14er, and many pounds of gorp later, I’ve returned. It was my […]

  3. Primal Connect | Blog | Paleo Onion and Parmesan Frittata - September 19, 2011

    […] Fenelon at The Crankin’ Kitchen has a new recipe for a Paleo/Primal Onion and Parmesan Frittata: Image from Julie, […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

