swiss chard and leek potato cake

18 Sep

paleo swiss chard, leek, and potato cakeI’ve just come off a long weekend of utter food debauchery. Samantha and her boyfriend Mike came to visit for what were the best four and a half days I’ll probably have until I make it back to visit them in Boston. I.love.themmmm. But wow, did my stomach not. Mostly, I screwed myself over with eating ice cream every night. Oof. But we really ate some pretty awesome food from some awesome restaurants. I love food. Joe loves food. Mike and Samantha love food probably more. It was epic. Mike kept telling me, “It’s alright, you can make it. Just another few meals to go.” Ha.
swiss chard backyard urban gardenraw milk, swiss chard, pastured eggsSome highlights included:
Chicken leg confit with collard greens full of pork chunks and some heirloom corn grits at The Universal. Best f-ing chicken ever. Holy cow. And it was for breakfast. That’s my kind of breakfast. I’d been there before and asked them to cook my eggs in bacon grease and the chef was not just willing to oblige, but excited to do so. Love that place.
chopped swiss chard stemdirty leek topsswiss chard and leek sautéA charcuterie plate with blood sausage, fat back, coppa, um, I can’t remember what else, at Colt and Gray. There had been a lot of drinking. Merguez. Bone marrow. Oh it was so good. I made the server ask the chef where I could get a pint of blood. And told him about my Polish cookbook I have. Great Divide and Denver Beer Co. beforehand was to blame.
harvested homegrown potatoesthinly sliced potatoesWe also went to one of my absolute favorites, Z Cuisine. Well, À Côté – the bar – because the damn restaurant wasn’t open that day. We had absinthe. It’s very sweet. Not so sure about the sugar cube part. But I am pretty sure about gruyere fondue and fingerling potatoes. And pork belly with red lentils.
raw creamswiss chard and raw cream mixtureBut now I’m back in business. Cooking and not eating ice cream. And exercising. Ohhh yeah that’s how I’m supposed to feel. It’s always a bit of a struggle to get back into cooking after eating at restaurants for a few days. It’s weird because part of me is inspired to try some new things that I picked up, but another part of me wants to continue getting served. The real lazy part. First on my list of want-to-tries is making that freaking chicken confit. Or duck. I have a goose in the freezer. Maybe that! But for some reason I decided to make this potato cake for the blog. I have so much swiss chard in my garden, I’d just harvested some potatoes, I’d gotten some leeks from the farmer’s market, and I had a ton of raw cream that I was too afraid I’d make cinnamon honey whipped cream out of and eat all of it in one sitting, that I thought this would be a good thing. Turns out, it’s pretty awesome. And fall-y. Because oh yeah I got Indian corn and butternut squash at the farmers’ market. YES!!! I plan on changing the dopey silk garland on my old lady grapevine wreath on my front door from spring flowers to orange maple leaves in the next couple days. And buy gourds. I LOVE SEASONAL GOURDS.
layering potato slices on swiss chardswiss chard and leek potato cake
serves 8, but I’m not promising that
I only got two leeks at the farmers’ market, so I added in the 1/2 onion – please feel free/you are encouraged to use 2 – 3 large leeks.

2 tablespoons butter or other fat
1 bunch of swiss chard, stems finely chopped and leaves coarsely chopped – divided
2 leeks, white and light greens parts chopped and rinsed well
1/2 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 cup heavy cream, or coconut milk
5 eggs
freshly grated nutmeg
3 – 4 medium potatoes, thinly sliced
sea salt and freshly ground pepper

1. Heat butter in a heavy 10-inch oven-proof skillet over medium heat. Add chard stems, leeks, onion, garlic, and thyme and sauté for 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Season with salt and pepper. Add in chard leaves and sauté for 2 minutes more, until just wilted. Transfer mixture to a medium bowl and refrigerate. Wipe out the skillet.

2. Meanwhile, mix cream and eggs together and season with 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper to taste, and the nutmeg – about 1/4 teaspoon. Mix into the just-enough-cooled chard and leek mixture.

3. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. In the same skillet, coat the bottom with some fat. Lay some potato slices down in a single layer – overlapping a bit is just fine. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper. Next add 1/2 of the chard mixture. Put another layer of potato slices on top of that and sprinkle with salt and pepper again. Pour the remaining chard mixture on top, and finally finishing with the last of your potatoes and another sprinkle of salt and pepper.

4. Bake, covered with tin foil, for 1 hour. Poke to ensure the potatoes are fork tender. If your slices are on the thick side, you might need to bake for another 15 minutes or so. When the potatoes are done, uncover the skillet, keep the rack in the middle where it was, and turn the oven on broil. Broil for 2 – 3 minutes, or until the potatoes have taken on a nice brown color and are crispy.

What a lovely Sunday brunch! Or 5pm dinner for me! This would be so freaking good with that chicken confit…
paleo weston a price swiss chard, raw cream, leek, potato cake paleo weston a price raw cream potato swiss chard leek cake

13 Responses to “swiss chard and leek potato cake”

  1. Meaghan September 20, 2012 at 08:43 #

    I love you. You always post something that involves a wilting veggie in my fridge that needs to go. In this case, swiss chard. Beautiful rainbow chard always draws me in to buying it, then I forget about it till it’s not quite so beautiful. I think I’ll try this with either turnip or rutabaga. Yum!

    • Julie September 20, 2012 at 09:21 #

      yes! i’m queen of finding ways to use wilting veggies! stemming from my inability to throw anything away…

      using turnips and/or rutabagas is a wonderful idea. i’m hoping this saturday i’ll find some at the farmers’ market. let me know how it goes!

      • Meaghan October 10, 2012 at 07:50 #

        So…I finally got around to making this. Leeks actually have a surprisingly good life span (don’t worry I got new ones since September 20th). I used turnips for this and coconut milk. Followed everything else exactly, and it was amazing! So hearty and delicious. Much more elegant than simple mashed veggies. Thanks!

  2. Chloe November 11, 2012 at 01:03 #

    Thanks for posting this recipe and for all the information you have provided. The swiss chard and leek potato cake looks absolutely inviting. The only thing is the 5 eggs, however since it looks so inviting, Im not going to worry about this when it comes to making it.

    • Julie November 11, 2012 at 08:46 #

      Why in the world would 5 eggs be a problem?? Eggs are wonderful!

      • Chloe November 11, 2012 at 14:19 #

        Hi Julie .. I always try and get fresh eggs from friends however if there’s none available I go for free range and they are expensive.

      • Julie November 11, 2012 at 17:38 #

        ohhh. hm, well you could try making a plain potato cake with no eggs. the potatoes would get nice and crispy. i’m actually about to post something similar. stay tuned!

  3. Barbara February 20, 2013 at 10:59 #

    Any chance you can translate your medium potatoes ingredient to weight? I am trying to divvy up a bag I have for two recipes and they are extra small red potatoes

    • Julie February 20, 2013 at 11:27 #

      Hey Barbara,

      This recipe isn’t too specific, so if you err on the side of not enough potatoes, then not such a big deal. If you err on the side of too much and they won’t fit in the pan, then you have some leftovers!

      But I would say for 3 – 4 medium potatoes, probably 6 – 7 extra small ones.

      Let me know how it goes!

      • Barbara February 20, 2013 at 19:17 #

        Thanks Julie for your reply! I guess a more basic question is what kind of potatoes does this recipe call for? Yukon gold likely? Similar size to normal size red? No worries on an answer. I am making it now and I’m sure it will work out.

      • Julie February 24, 2013 at 10:24 #

        I generally use russets, unless I specify. Any of them would work perfectly for this.

        How did it go??

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. swiss chard and leek potato cake | Paleo Digest - September 18, 2012

    […] on the web!swiss chard and leek potato cake the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: September 18, 2012the crankin’ kitchen! – I’ve just come off a long weekend of utter food debauchery. Samantha and her […]

  2. Swiss Chard and Leek Potato Cake | When it's time to get cookin' - September 19, 2012

    […] Source: Cranking Kitchen […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

