spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakes

1 Oct

paleo spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakesfallfallfallfallfallfallfallllll!
spaghetti squash ready to roast spaghetti squashIn other news, I might move to Dallas. I am not happy about it. Joe is looking at a company down there for a job. I don’t know. We’ll see. But I can bet you their fall sucks. What the heck am I supposed to cook down there besides bbq (oh that could be good…). Do winter squash even grow? DO THE LEAVES EVEN CHANGE THERE. It’s just a hot, humid, flat wasteland. I’m too afraid to look back at my blog posts around the time of the Denver move. I think I didn’t want to leave Boston, either. I’m apparently inflexible. It’s hard to even get me to go out at night.
organic onionsSo, let’s not panic yet. Let’s try not to think of packing and figuring out what to do with the giant raised bed garden I built…or thinking of what to do with the poor cats. I’ll try to think of positives. Like, how maybe I won’t have a horrible metallic vinyl wallpapered kitchen! Maybe no wall to wall carpet! But oh, the weather. And the flatness. So sad.
draining roasted spaghetti squash drained roasted spaghetti squashMore positives – the fall here feels like the most wonderful fall on earth ever. It’s cold at night. It’s either 70s during the day or cloudy and drizzly. It is wonderful. And I have my old lady grapevine wreath all decked out in its fake maple leaf garland finest. And a halloween flag out front of my house. The cat costumes have made their way upstairs from the basement, too. A pumpkin shirt with little pumpkin hat and pharaoh/Hatshepsut (depending on which kitty wears it).
caramelized onions caramelized onions and spaghetti squash mixtureI also went absolutely bonkers with buying winter squash in the past week or so. I need to start chugging through it. So that I can buy more. Because buying it at the farmers’ market is half the fun. Well, I was staring at my spaghetti squash and my “minighetti” squash wanting nothing but to not make some sort of mock spaghetti dish. And so, the only thing I could think of was a little cake. This is basically how I got through the heyday of zucchini season (which is still going even after I cut my plants back completely – they’re haunting me). I’d make little egg-y zucchini cakes for breakfast every morning. Sometimes with cornmeal if I felt real wild and crazy. Well, here is a nice fall version. It’s simple, easy, and a really good starting point for a ton of variations. I wanted to put crisped prosciutto on top. I forgot to get it at the grocery store. Story of my life.
caramelized onion and spaghetti squash cake batter caramelized onion and spaghetti squash pan cakes spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakes
ps, I made extra squash and onions, because it was Sunday and I like making extra stuff for the coming week.

1 spaghetti squash, halved, seeds removed
2 tablespoons fat, divided
2 onions, halved and thinly sliced
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
4 eggs
fat for pan-frying

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place squash cut side down on a baking sheet. Roast for 35 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tablespoon of fat in a heavy skillet over medium heat to get it started, then turn the pan down to low. Add the onions and sauté for a good 45 minutes.

3. When the squash is done and the onions are still caramelizing, scrape out the innards and place in a colander over a bowl. Press and/or squeeze the squash to remove some of the excess liquid. Don’t drive yourself nuts trying to get all of it.

4. When the onions are caramelized sufficiently, combine 1 cup of them with about 2 cups of the spaghetti squash, the other 1 tablespoon of your fat, about 1 teaspoon sea salt, pepper to taste, and the eggs.

5. Wipe out the pan you used for your onions, reheat on medium heat along with 1 tablespoon of fat. Drop about 1/4 cup sized dollops of the batter into the pan and cook for about 2 1/2 minutes per side, until nice and golden brown on each side and the egg cooked through. Continue to add in fat and dollops until you’ve got as many cakes as you want to eat.

6. Meanwhile, you can fry up some almonds like I did in a small pan to top the cakes with. Heat some oil up over medium heat and cook the almonds until they start to get a bit darker.

Other toppings would be that fried prosciutto I wanted, parsley, spiced yogurt, tons of stuff. Butter… You could go typical fall route with sage and a bit of nutmeg. I think making them sweet would be weird. Save that for puréed squash cakes, weirdo.
paleo spaghetti squash cakes with roasted almonds

12 Responses to “spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakes”

  1. Amy @ The Drunken Pigs October 2, 2012 at 06:51 #

    Cheer up….Dallas (or at least the DFW area) isn’t so bad. I moved here 11 years ago from California and fell in love immediately. Prior to moving here I thought it was going to be dusty, dry, with tumbleweeds rolling across the street. It is very much the opposite. Fall (and Spring) are the most wonderful times to live here and every year it reminds me of how much I love this great state. Now…it isnt Colorado, but Texas is pretty awesome. We have farmers markets, and some people even have running water to their house. 🙂

    • Julie October 2, 2012 at 07:09 #

      thanks Amy! i’m sure i’ll end up liking it, if we end up going. (i think i’m jinxing the crap out of him getting this job…) the growing season is much longer, so that’s nice! and my hair will be curlier than here, so that’s nice too! heh.

  2. Carrie October 2, 2012 at 11:09 #

    I love this idea! What a great fall side dish.

  3. Alex October 3, 2012 at 19:17 #

    These look amazing. AMAZING! As in…I need to make these as soon as humanly possible. Great idea!

    • Julie October 4, 2012 at 07:04 #

      yes you do! and let me know what you think! and definitely make extra caramelized onions…they make everything so wonderful. best fridge staple.

  4. Rose Taylor October 8, 2012 at 07:21 #

    Wow! This is wonderful! Once I get the chance to visit my kitchen I will definitely try this out. Thanks for sharing this.

  5. Erin November 10, 2012 at 19:35 #

    Hello, this looks like a delicious recipe, but I want to adjust it to make it more healthy. I figured I could substitute the eggs with Egg Beaters, but not sure about the fat. What kind of fat did you use, shortening? And do you think something else could be used? Pam? Olive or Canola Oil? Thanks in advance for any advice!

    • Julie November 10, 2012 at 20:13 #

      ohhhh boy do I need to have a word with you. Real, whole eggs are HEALTHY! And I don’t remember what fat I used, but it was probably an animal fat. That’s saturated fat!

      Take a look at the recipes on my site – you’ll see all real, whole foods, often explored in traditional ways, and nearly always seasonal. I am a big fan of pastured meats and the rendered fat from those animals, pastured eggs, and of course local and seasonal produce.

      Ditch the Egg Beaters. Please.

      • Becca November 11, 2012 at 06:12 #

        Just came for the recipe, but seeing this comment lets me know I need to stick around for a bit!

      • Julie November 11, 2012 at 08:49 #

        Yes!! Glad to hear🙂

  6. Dena November 10, 2012 at 20:27 #

    Thanks for posting the recipe! Looks yummy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakes | Paleo Digest - October 1, 2012

    […] web!spaghetti squash and caramelized onion cakes the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: October 01, 2012the crankin’ kitchen! – fallfallfallfallfallfallfallllll! In other news, I might move to Dallas. I am not happy […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

