doro wot

16 Oct

paleo doro wot
I hurt my wrist again. The other one. Double gimp. I am so mad about it I don’t even want to talk about it. I relive the moment and my head tightens up and I want so bad to redo it. Not be such a total spaz. I slipped off a pull up bar. At a competition. That I should have kicked butt at. I’m giving up on fitness. Resorting to the safe, comfy couch. Injuries SUCK. They’re so frustrating and my right wrist still isn’t fine from last year’s stupid fall. I don’t want to deal with this stufffff. GAH. Hey look, the last time I hurt my wrist I posted about African food. My only two African posts. I should stop planning on making anything from that continent. Is that racist? Prob.
ethiopian spicestoasted spices in mortarSo Denver doesn’t have quite the amount of ethnic diversity pockets as other cities might have, but the amount of Ethiopian restaurants here surpasses Boston by about a ton, so that’s good enough for me. I first had Ethiopian food my first year in Boston at this funny little hole in the wall near my apartment called Fasika. I’d just tell them to give me a sampling of all of their veggie dishes. Those are still all my favorite. I like the meat dishes, but oh man the vegetables. And the lentils. But for some reason I chose to make this for my first foray into Ethiopian food. I really should have made gomen, using the never ending amount of swiss chard I have in the garden. But I couldn’t muster the thought of prepping all of those leaves with one hand. Plus I was still so crabby about it. I’m still crabby about it. And the stupid splint I’m wearing.
melting butter
foam on top of melted butterIt seemed funny to not make injera, but give me a break here. Crabby. So this is definitely a weekend meal. At least the first go. You have to make berbere. And you have to make niter kibbeh – spiced butter. Once you have those, then you can easily make the rest of the dish. Or you could take the more normal person route and buy some berbere. And just use a regular fat instead of niter kibbeh. But then that’s like dumping curry powder on top of chicken and calling it tikka masala. That’s no fun! Or at least, you don’t need a recipe to tell you how to do that. I don’t proclaim that this is the most authentic doro wot you’ll ever have. But it is really freaking good. And close to it. I feel like someone from Ethiopia would nod their head in approval at this dish. They better. I even bought nigella seeds. Which I didn’t mind so much because I KNOW I have a recipe bookmarked or Pinterested or somewhere in the back of my mind which uses those and so now I can make it. I just have no idea where it is. Or what it was. Indian something, prob.
sliced red onionnigella seedsethiopian clarified spiced butterberbere
makes about 2/3 cup
notes: you can use onion powder or dried onion flakes (do like 3x onion flakes to powder). In regards to the chile powder, you can also substitute toasted and ground whole red chiles – like chiles de árbol or California chiles, like 5 of them. Chili powder is just that – powder for
chili, so look for chile powder if you can’t find whole dried chiles.

2 teaspoons coriander seeds
1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds
1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
6 whole allspice
6 cardamom pods
4 cloves
3 tablespoons onion powder
5 teaspoons red chile powder
3 tablespoons paprika
1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1. Heat a small sauté pan over medium heat. Add the whole spices and toast, stirring constantly, until nice and fragrant, about 4 minutes.

2. In a mortar and pestle or spice grinder, grind up the toasted spiced. Mix with the rest of the spices.
burnt caramelized onionsdoro wat sauceniter kibbeh

1 pound of unsalted butter
1/2 red onion, coarsely chopped
1 inch ginger, chopped
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds
1/2 teaspoon nigella seeds
1/2 teaspoon cardamom seeds (from like 4 pods)

1. Clarify the butter: Heat the butter in a medium saucepan over low heat until it all melts and foam rises to the top. Stir frequently. Skim the foam off and reserve for something delicious. Pour the butter through cheesecloth into a jar or a bowl, reserving the solids at the bottom (add them to the little bowl of foam). Wipe out the saucepan and return the now clarified butter to it.

2. Add the remaining ingredients, and simmer on low for 15 minutes. Strain again into the jar/bowl and reserve the onions for something else.
chicken drumsticks for paleo doro wotdrumsticks in doro wotdoro wot
You can use chicked drumsticks, legs, thighs, whatever you like and/or have on hand. Amount isn’t terribly specific.

1/4 cup niter kibbeh
2 yellow onions
1 inch of ginger, peeled and finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, smashed
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
1 1/2 tablespoon berbere
lots of chicken drumsticks. I think I used like 16 from a Whole Foods valu-pak or something. Ha. Valu-pak.
sea salt to taste
hard boiled eggs

1. Heat butter over low heat and sauté onions for about 30 minutes, until getting nice and browned. Stir frequently and don’t get distracted by sitting outside in the beautiful sun, or you’ll burn them…

2. Add in the ginger and garlic and sauté for about 7 minutes more, stirring frequently.

3. Pour in the chicken stock, stir in the berbere, and nestle in the chicken. Bring to a boil, then reduce to low and simmer, covered, for 40 minutes.

4. Uncover and increase heat to medium high to reduce the sauce. Add in the hard boiled eggs and serve!

If you have more than one hand, you can eat with your hands. I didn’t… I needed at least one hand to fart around on the internet with.

15 Responses to “doro wot”

  1. Mary Catherine October 16, 2012 at 14:23 #

    ulie, I was bummed for you when I heard about your wrist. Super annoying, I’m sure.

    But, dang, you sure had some success in the kitchen. This looks amazing. I’m continually impressed by your skills!

    • Julie October 18, 2012 at 10:57 #

      Thanks! I’ve got awesome one-handed skills🙂

      Yeah, stupid wrist. So glad it’s not broken. And it’s already starting to feel a bit better. Back to pull ups in no time! Ha.

  2. vanessa October 21, 2012 at 12:30 #

    I’ve had doro wot where the eggs were boiled in with the sauce, and somehow soaked up the sauce all the way through. I’ve tried doing this a few times with broth–soft-boiling the eggs first, then cracking the shells to finish boiling them–and have failed every time. Do you know anything about this? Is it even possible? Was it a dream?

    • Julie October 21, 2012 at 17:46 #

      I think a dream. It sounds like the most delicious dream, though. Maybe you could crack the eggs right into the stew and poach them in the sauce. Different effect, but it’d be like shakshouka, which is pretty damn good.

      Let me know if you try that!

  3. Donna October 21, 2012 at 15:46 #

    I actually HAVE the nigella seeds…Question…Could you please come up with the recipe for the Injera (sp?!) bread ..using Teff flour…I believe one eats this delectable dish with?!..Love your wit and writing style…Thank you so much for sharing this amazing, authentic version of the dish..and giving us the “how to” regarding the spice mixes…

    • Julie October 21, 2012 at 17:42 #

      YES! I bought teff flour the other day and I will get on it post haste. I hope I don’t let it ferment/rot too much and give myself a horrible bacterial infection.

      • Donna October 22, 2012 at 00:43 #

        Can’t wait!…Hope your teff flour works out and thanks again for such a consistently super blog and sharing your culinary creativity!

  4. Tom October 21, 2012 at 20:47 #

    Hello from a fellow Denverite and paleo foodie! I saw your blog (and doro wat) featured on Mark’s Daily Apple. Looks awesome … and reminds me of the doro wat we started making a few years back after dinner one night at Arada on Santa Fe. Looking forward to following your blog!

  5. Donna October 22, 2012 at 00:48 #

    Gads…I just realized the injera BREAD must not be too paleo, despite its “seed” status?!..Could there be a way to make a Paleo-friendly version of this “scooping” vehicle?…Sorry for the oversight!

    • Julie October 22, 2012 at 10:28 #

      meh. I like that it’s fermented and I wouldn’t eat it every day because I’m apt to eat a disgusting amount. Try it and see if it agrees with you! That’s the best way to judge food.

      I don’t think I’m into making a Paleo version – I mean, scooping with your hands is half the fun anyway! I suppose if teff didn’t agree with you, you could try making it with coconut flour? Fermenting it? I don’t know if it ferments well. I’ll keep you posted on making it though. Haven’t started – I forgot to get yeast when I went to the grocers this weekend. :-\

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. doro wot | Paleo Digest - October 16, 2012

    […] Paleo/Primal blogs and sites on the web!doro wot the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: October 16, 2012the crankin’ kitchen! – I hurt my wrist again. The other one. Double gimp. I am so mad about it I don’t even […]

  2. Weekend Link Love - Edition 212 | Mark's Daily Apple - October 21, 2012

    […] you’re not up on Ethiopian food, you should rectify that. Or, make some doro wat […]

  3. lamb tagine « the crankin' kitchen! - October 31, 2012

    […] lamb? Sure, whatever. Just make it. I just realized that I thought I had only posted two African recipes in my blog’s existence. How incredibly embarrassing to admit that it was because I […]

  4. za’atar « the crankin' kitchen! - December 4, 2012

    […] thing while being able to take pictures. But, really, I can see how sometimes my more spice-heavy recipes can look daunting. And this way, it makes it seem more manageable. Right? Sumac is a spice that I […]

  5. one-pot mustard and lemon chicken « the crankin' kitchen! - January 10, 2013

    […] a good example of what I might do on a weekday night (you know, because I don’t always make ridiculous dinners on a Tuesday). It’s to the point, but not lacking in flavor, and super good. And […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

