coconut milk kheer

17 Feb

real food coconut milk kheerI’ve had some pretty terrible rice puddings. Thin and anemic, the rice somehow devoid of any starch. And something about it being served cold, more often than not, just magnifies how watery and uninspired the “pudding” is. Gross. But I’ve also had some really delicious ones. Spiced just right, not too sweet, and so thick serving it cold might be hazardous. Kinda like this recipe here.
natural value organic coconut milk no guar gum coconut milk I finally took the plunge and ordered a case of coconut milk online. I’ve of late been refusing to use the guar gummed coconut milk. I’ve been fairly convinvced it makes me feel terrible after an objectionable run-in with some commercial coconut milk ice cream, and while I’ve had some non-ice cream canned stuff in recent past and been alright, I’m still done with it. Enter the unfortunately titled “Natural Value” coconut milk. I’m not entirely sure it’s not an off-brand from Family Dollar. But hey, the placebo effect is a real thing, ya know?
arborio rice rinsing rice rinsed arborio rice I cut my hair! Bangs! Ugh, what was I thinking. They’re the worst! Now I actually have to style my hair. Now I actually have to wash my hair regularly. I have this big dumb cowlick in the front of my head that makes my hair look real dumb if I don’t comb and brush and curl and blow dry it. Also, I need to stop eating so much dessert. I shouldn’t have made this pudding. I think my chin and neck have come together to meet in unholy matrimony.
saffron cardamom pods boiling pudding Instead of arborio rice as I use here, jasmine rice is also a great rice to use, as is basmati. Jasmine’s flavor makes up for any difference in starch content between it and arborio I think. Golden raisins are also a nice addition, as are other nuts as garnishes – toasted almonds or toasted cashews. The saffron is optional. I have some from a Middle Eastern market and it was really inexpensive, but I know normally it’s not. And please don’t think you can make this with cauliflower rice or some other such nonsense. I mean you could, but I can think of way better things to use cauliflower for. You could use sprouted brown rice if you’re so inclined, but just decrease the amount of coconut milk you use since it’ll cook so quickly. I might try that with some brown Jasmine rice I have. I like sprouting things.
clarks local colorado honey pistachios chopped pistachios coconut milk kheer
serves about 6 – 8

1/2 cup arborio rice
2 cans coconut milk
6 cardamom pods, lightly crushed
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
generous pinch saffron
4 tablespoons honey
shelled and peeled pistachios

1. Wash and rinse the rice until the water runs clear.

2. In a small saucepan, heat the rice, coconut milk, cardamom, salt, and saffron over medium high heat until it starts to boil, then reduce the heat to medium low. Cook for 20 minutes, stirring frequently, especially toward the end as the mixture gets thicker.

3. Stir in the honey and cook an additional few minutes, stirring frequently.

Serve with chopped pistachios on top. If you can wait until it’s closer to room temperature (aka prime mouth-shoveling temperature) then it’s supreme.

6 Responses to “coconut milk kheer”

  1. grokgrub March 12, 2013 at 08:48 #

    Dude, the guar gum is what makes me feel sick after drinking coconut milk?

    • Julie March 12, 2013 at 09:27 #

      I don’t know, maybe?? I have a friend who cut all coconut products out and her health improved a lot, so perhaps it could just be the coconut making you sick? Try buying the non-gummed up stuff and see if you still feel bad. But yeah, I swear it was the guar gum that did me in.

  2. Rich June 19, 2013 at 22:26 #

    Thank you for this. Having guests tomorrow and one is Gluten/Dairy/Soy free. Looking for a nice dessert and this fit the bill perfectly! Just made it, I used only 2 Tbsp of honey, and after tasting, think I would have done well to use just 1, but I don’t like my desserts sweet. Thanks so much for this wonderful gift, we will add it to our repertoire.

  3. Jasmine October 29, 2013 at 21:29 #

    The reason your “saffron” was cheap is because it’s not real saffron. You bought safflower petals. Cheap, looks similar, and it’ll lend a yellow colour, but no proper flavour to the dish.

    • Julie October 30, 2013 at 08:57 #

      Aw man! That’s what I get😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. coconut milk kheer | Paleo Digest - February 17, 2013

    […] crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: February 17, 2013 the crankin’ kitchen! – I’ve had some pretty terrible rice puddings. Thin and anemic, the rice somehow devoid […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

