pork chops with cherry rhubarb chutney + mustard greens + herbed roasted sweet potatoes

28 Mar


You probably think I have an obsession with sweet potatoes. I think I might have an obsession with sweet potatoes. I almost didn’t include them in the recipe because I’m getting embarrassed with how often I post them. I swear I don’t eat them every day. But this recipe isn’t about the sweet potatoes. It’s about pork chops and delicious chutney, and mustard greens too. It’s getting to be warm and spring like and rhubarb is one of those quintessential early spring vegetables, along with asparagus and peas. I might have jumped the gun a bit on rhubarb here – the stuff I found at my grocery store didn’t look the best and it was stupid expensive. Still, I got it in my head to use rhubarb because I want it to be spring and $6.99 per pound be damned.


I had a wonderful, lazy Sunday late afternoon making this dinner. I did all my prepping and took my time with making the chutney and took lots of stress-free pictures. That is, until America’s Next Great Restaurant came on. I had tried to time everything so I could watch that stupid show while eating, but it didn’t work. So now you know about my dedication to not only Biggest Loser, but another NBC product placement-laden television show. I like food and I like exercising and I like shows that revolve around them. And I don’t like waiting until the following day and watching it on my computer. I like to watch it on TV. It’s like I’m 65.


So mustard greens. Typically kale is my go-to leafy green vegetable. I also really like to make collard greens, and of course spinach… oh and swiss chard. But mustard greens, turnip greens, dandelion greens, beet greens – I kind of forget about them. Which is terrible! They’re wonderful! Mustard greens are nice and bitter and spicy. They’re great here with a bunch of garlic and generous squeezes of lemon juice. Simple and easy.

The chutney here is pretty flexible. If you don’t want to use rhubarb, substitute a granny smith apple. If you don’t have cherries but have a bunch of raisins in the pantry, use those. You can use some ground ginger for the fresh stuff. Sherry vinegar for balsamic. You get the idea. It’s just a lightly spiced, vinegared, savory/sweet fruit mixture.

pork chops with rhubarb cherry chutney
adapted from Martha Stewart, serves 4

Some helpful hints – you can make the chutney first and just set it aside, or far in advance. It should be warm or room temperature when you serve it. The greens can be made while the sweet potatoes are roasting and just covered to keep warm. Cook the pork last and time it so it’s finished when the sweet potatoes come out of the oven or thereabouts.

cherry rhubarb chutney
1/2 cup dried cherries
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup finely chopped onion, about 1/2 a small onion
1/2 inch knob of ginger, minced, about 1/2 tablespoon
8 to 10 ounces rhubarb, cut crosswise into 1/3 – 1/2 inch pieces
pinch of ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground mustard

1. In a small bowl, mix the cherries with the vinegar and about 1/4 cup hot water. Let sit for about 10 minutes, until softened.

2. Heat oil in a small pan over medium low heat. Add onions and ginger, and sauté for 10 minutes.

3. Add rhubarb and cherry mixture. Simmer until rhubarb has softened, about 8 minutes. Stir in nutmeg and mustard.

herbed roasted sweet potatoes
3 medium sweet potatoes, cut into 1 1/2-inch rounds, cutting any larger diameter pieces in half crosswise
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves, or about 1/2 tablespoon or so dried
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon coarse sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, toss sweet potatoes with remainder of ingredients. I find it helpful to fit the large bowl with a slightly smaller one on top and shake.

2. Arrange sweet potatoes in a 9×13 inch Pyrex dish, or rimmed baking sheet. Roast until tender and browned, about 60 minutes.

mustard greens
3 tablespoons butter
2 bunches mustard greens
1 medium onion (or other half of onion from the chutney), chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
coarse sea salt and pepper
fresh lemon juice

1. In a large, heavy sauté pan, heat butter over medium-high heat. Add onion and sauté until translucent and beginning to brown, about 6 minutes. Add garlic and sauté for about 2 minutes more, making sure garlic doesn’t burn.

2. Add mustard greens in stages, adding the next amount after the first has wilted and made room in the pan. Once all greens are wilted, remove from heat and toss with lemon juice.

pork chops
4 boneless pork loin chops, about 3/4 inch thick (we cut ours from a loin roast)
coarse sea salt and pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil or bacon fat

1. Generously season pork chops with salt and pepper.

2. Heat oil in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Add pork chops, doing it in stages if necessary to avoid crowding.

3. Cook chops for about 5 minutes per side, depending on thickness. Internal thermometer should read 155 degrees.

Serve the pork chops with a big spoonful of chutney on top and then put some greens and sweet potato on the side. Delicious!

11 Responses to “pork chops with cherry rhubarb chutney + mustard greens + herbed roasted sweet potatoes”

  1. Colleen March 29, 2011 at 18:02 #

    Can’t wait to try the pork with this very intereting rhubarb cherry chutney. As you may understand, we likely will not have garden rhubarb until JUNE or JULY this year in MN!!! Alright, maybe sooner than July. I will try this on the weekend after a trip to the store and let you know what I think. It may be a good one for the hospital cafe.

    • Julie March 29, 2011 at 21:52 #

      Well, veggies from the garden will just taste that much better! Good things come to those who wait : )

      I’d love to hear what you think and any changes you might make.

  2. Chowstalker April 2, 2011 at 08:18 #

    Thanks so much for sharing this on Chowstalker Julie! That chutney sounds wonderful! We have a hard time growing rhubarb here in Georgia, but my Canadian husband keeps trying. 🙂

    • Julie April 2, 2011 at 20:51 #

      You’re welcome! I think that having difficulty growing rhubarb is a small price to pay for all the other great things you have no trouble growing in Georgia. Although I have to say, the peaches from here in Colorado are pretty wonderful. I want to have a peach tasting contest!

  3. len April 3, 2011 at 18:28 #

    Julie another wonderful meal! I finally was able to track down some rhubarb for the chutney. It seemed a few a weeks ago all the stores had it, and then of course when you look for it, no where to be found. The slight change I made to the chutney was I used dried cranberries by accident. I actually had cherries but grabbed the cranberries. I realized the slip up while they where in the vinegar. The chutney turned out great. I used it on chicken breasts instead of pork. I am sure it is great on pork. My husband developed an allergy to beef, pork and lamb a few years ago so red meat is off the menu at our home. The sacrifices we make to honor our vows … in sickness and health. :)Thank you for another creative meal.

    • Julie April 5, 2011 at 15:25 #

      Shoot, that’s a tough allergy! I’m happy to hear that you liked the chutney with the chicken. And I bet cranberries were really yummy too.

      Thanks for your comments, I love them! : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SUNDAY 11.04.03 « The Foodee Project | Meals for the paleo lifestyle - April 5, 2011

    […] 2, 2011 by The Foodee Pork chops with cherry rhubarb chutney The Cranking […]

  2. Cherry Rhubarb Pork Chops « paleosisters - June 25, 2012

    […] I found the recipe I was looking for at The Cranking Kitchen.  Here is their version, […]

  3. 52 Paleo Pork Chops with Amazing Flavor | Paleo Grubs - October 11, 2013

    […] 41. Pork Chops with Rhubarb Cherry Chutney If you want your whole meal thought out for you, go with this recipe. They not only show you how to season the perfect pork chop, but they give you a recipe for a cherry chutney that goes really nice with the pork. They even explain how to roast up the perfect sweet potatoes so that you’re getting everything you need in one meal. They’ve taken a traditional Martha Stewart pork chop recipe and made it so that Paleo eaters can enjoy it. There’s a ton of recipes out there, waiting to be modified, they just need a bit of tweaking to take out the bad and insert the good. Don’t be afraid to experiment. […]

  4. 17 Juicy Paleo Pork Chop Recipes - Crave Paleo - February 11, 2015

    […] something beyond ordinary, try this recipe from The Crankin’ Kitchen. Adapted from a Martha Stewart favorite, this recipe celebrates the quintessential early spring […]

  5. 60 Amazing Paleo Pork Chop Recipes - May 19, 2015

    […] 40. Pork Chops With Rhubarb Cherry Chutney […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!