curry apricot relish

1 Jul

Am I allowed to eat just fruit in the summer? Fruitarian? Good, thanks. Because that’s pretty much what I’ve been doing the past couple weeks. Colorado cherries and apricots, nectarines, peaches, blueberries, blackberries, watermelon, um I’m gonna barf. Those cherries are especially going to get the best of me. I CAN NOT STOP WITH THEM. I’ll look down at my little bowl full of pits and stems and be genuinely shocked.
Because of the 4th of July, my CSA delivery moved back to the Monday before. That means that I’m going to be getting whole new bags of apricots and cherries a couple days sooner and I kind of panicked when I looked at how many apricots I had left. I considered canning them. Pickling. Dehydrating. Grilling. Desserting. Something. But decided to make a relish of sorts. It was tempting to make another fruit salsa, as I do have quite the affinity for them. But curry was calling to me. And, while salsa could probably be called a relish, it doesn’t work the other way around. So, yes, it’s a fruit relish.
It’s shocking how my productivity level hasn’t recovered from my southwestern vacation. It’s…been like a month since I got back. Mm, maybe 3 weeks. I don’t know. I can’t get myself to function anywhere near the level I was at before I left. It might be the solid two weeks of 100 degree days we’ve been having. I probably can’t pin it on them, but they’re really not helping. I could be making so many recipes for the blog, now that it’s light at dinner time, but, I have not. Dinners have been salad and burgers/sausages and possibly hopefully grilled potato wedges. That’s it. Followed by copious cherry consumption. Summer is dwindling already and I’m squandering my natural light opportunities! And I have so much lovely produce from my garden to tell you about! I picked a carrot way, way too early, tried to put it back in the ground and it was all wilty the next day. So I re-picked it and ate it. It was bitter.
This little relish works super well with pork. Fruit and pork. Real inventive, I know. I also really want to purée it and marinate chicken legs in it and grill them up all nice and crispy. Saving a little of the relish to have as a topping, of course. Lamb seems another natural fit. I don’t know, okay any meat is good. Try making like a lightly steamed chopped vegetable salad and folding this in – green beans, summer squashes, carrots. Some spice might be nice, too. I had actually initially meant to use some red pepper flakes, or a few pinches of cayenne, but forgot. Minced serrano would be good.
curry apricot relish
makes several cups

15 fresh apricots, pitted and cut into quarters
1/4 medium red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1 tablespoon grainy mustard
1 teaspoon curry powder (whichever type you have around will be fine)
juice of 1/2 lime
sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

1. Stir together first three ingredients in a large bowl.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the mustard, curry powder, and lime juice. Add to the large bowl and toss around to coat.

3. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

I ate this with a pork burger and it was wonderful. Now, what should I do with all the apricots I’m getting next??

6 Responses to “curry apricot relish”

  1. Mark S. July 2, 2012 at 07:30 #

    Fuuuuuuuu. This is awesome. Apricots are getting started here. Just made a plate of green olives, apricots, and garlic scape charcoal. This looks like I need a jar around constantly.

    • Julie July 2, 2012 at 10:43 #

      I don’t know what that charcoal thing is, but it sounds amazing. I love garlic scapes. And green olives. And apricots.

      • Mark S. July 3, 2012 at 07:24 #

        You’ll see details very soon, but basically, I put scapes on the grill or in the oven at about 500 degrees until they burned (some of mine set fire), cooled them, and then whipped them with oil. It is essentially a jet black sauce that tastes like a cross between the smell of grilled corn husk and taste of garlic.

      • Julie July 3, 2012 at 09:01 #

        oh wow that sounds awesomeeee

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. curry apricot relish | Paleo Digest - July 1, 2012

    […] blogs and sites on the web!curry apricot relish the crankin' kitchen! / Posted on: July 01, 2012the crankin’ kitchen! – Am I allowed to eat just fruit in the summer? Fruitarian? Good, thanks. Because […]

  2. Saturday: Rodeo Time! « CrossFit + Paleo = A Winning Combination - July 7, 2012

    […] Campbell presents curry apricot relish posted at the crankin’ kitchen!, saying, “a lovely summer relish using fresh, […]

share your thoughts! and hopes and dreams!

